Richmond’s Museum of the Confederacy will open the doors on a second facility in Appomattox with a Grand Opening celebration on Saturday, March 31, 2012. Situated on a hill overlooking Rt. 460 and close to Appomattox Court House National Historical Park , the new Museum of the Confederacy – Appomattox is a beautiful, modern 11,700-square-foot facility that will instantly be counted among the best Civil War museums in the country. The exhibit focuses on the last months and days of the Civil War and uses an array of artifacts and 41 learning stations to tell the story.
The Museum of the Confederacy opened its vaults to bring out uniforms and artifacts that will be on permanent display in a lavish gallery. Foremost among the collection on display are the uniform coat and sword worn by Confederate general Robert E. Lee when he surrendered his army to Gen. Ulysses S. Grant at Appomattox Court House on April 9th, 1865 and the original parole document signed by Lee and his staff.
This new facility combined with the National Park Service Appomattox unit, nearby Sailor’s Creek Battlefield State Park, the new High Bridge Trail State Park and the Lee’s Retreat Civil War Trails make the region a must-see destination for history lovers.